Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Right to buy Residential land in New Zealand

Default Right to buy Residential land in New Zealand

I have been living in New Zealand since February 2017 and recently obtained resident visa in July 2018. I am also a tax resident in New Zealand and now I am looking for a residential land to buy.

I wonder if I am eligible to buy under the Overseas Investment Act 2005 and no need to obtain consent to buy one home to live in? I see a document requiring confirmation that "I have been residing in NZ for at least immediate preceding 12 months" but I am not sure how the term residing is defined. I also found another guideline simply stating that "have lieved in NZ for at least 183 days in the past 12 months"

Has anyone been in similar situation, and anyone can answer about my case?

Thank you!
    Sakitran

See here. https://www.linz.govt.nz/overseas-in...-one-home-live

Also, for your quick answer (yes, from what you have said, you qualify ), click on the link to the two-page guide in the section headed Can you buy a home to live in?

Quote Originally Posted by JandM View Post

Also, for your quick answer (yes, from what you have said, you qualify ), click on the link to the two-page guide in the section headed Can you buy a home to live in?

Hi JandM,

Thank you for your reply. I would like to clarify a bit more on the Residential land statement that I found in the link you shared.
    https://www.linz.govt.nz/file/19455/...token=xsdIvEd3

1. Am I holding New Zealand residence class visa? Yes, since July 2018.

2. Have I been residing in New Zealand for at least the immediately preceding 12 months? I don't feel very clear with this, although I have been living in New Zealand since Feb 2017.

3. Am I a tax resident in New Zealand? Yes.

4. Have I been present in New Zealand for 183 days or more in the immediately preceding 12 months? Yes.