Thread: Can my partner change jobs right now?

Question Can my partner change jobs right now?

First I'll give an update about our current visa status.

• August 2017: Arrived in NZ with my partner, both on Working Holiday Visa and both started working on that visa;
    • May 2018: My partner is successful in applying for a job with an Accredited Employer;
    • May 2018: Because of the above, we were granted a Talent (Accredited Employer) Work Visa for HER and a Partner of a Worker Work Visa for ME which is valid until December 2020;
    • November 2018: I have been working in Skilled Employment since October 2017 and I finally have enough experience to claim 160 points for the SMC Visa.
    • February 2019: Because of the above, I lodged a SMC Visa application with me as the principal applicant and my partner included. I only claimed bonus points for my partner's qualification (NOT for any (current)(skilled) work experience, ONLY for her qualification);
    • Currently: awaiting CO allocation for SMC application.

We are both living and working in Auckland. However, my partner is seeking other opportunities as she is over qualified for the work she is currently doing and she is a bit impatient to wait for our SMC outcome. She has found a job opportunity in Dunedin which she would love to accept. She is currently in the interviewing process. This company is an Accredited Employer as well (but it is a different position).

If she is successful, it is obvious that she will have to move to Dunedin before I will be able to as our SMC application is depending on my current skilled work here in Auckland. and I don't want to make things too complicated before our CO allocation.