Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Converting my drivers license

Thumbs down Converting my drivers license

I am currently going through the conversion of my USA drivers license, which is unexpectedly complex, because my current license has a recent issue date (I thought it would be a good idea to renew before I moved away). Even though I still have my old license, which I thought would prove I have been driving for at least 2 years (in one of the "right" countries...), there have been many phone calls and visits to the AA office involved.

Here is a general guide for the process:
    https://www.backpackerguide.nz/conve...river-license/

So my particular situation is that right before we moved to NZ in October 2018, we moved our official residence from California to Washington state. We don't have a house anymore, so we "moved in" with my sister-in-law for various reasons of convenience. The unfortunate part is that I had to get a hole punched in my California license in order to get a Washington license. (Otherwise the CA license would still be good, and would have been easy to convert in NZ). So, AA wanted me to call NZTA for a "reference number" to see if I could use both licenses together to get my conversion, and NZTA wanted AA to look at them and decide, basically punting the decision to each other. AA was also confused by the "enhanced drivers license" label on my Washington one, they had never seen that before and didn't know if it was the proper kind.
    (See this link for the mess that is "REAL ID," supposed to be a requirement for domestic travel in the US starting in 2020... https://dps.mn.gov/divisions/dvs/rea...al-id-faq.aspx Again I thought it would be smart to get one before moving away, so I don't have to use a passport to fly in the US)