Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Section 61- Post-Study Work Visa

Default Section 61- Post-Study Work Visa

Hello everyone,

Its my first time posting here!!
    Just explaining my situation in brief:
    My student visa expired on 30th July 2019 but I was under the mistakenly belief that I would be able to apply for a post-study work visa within three months of my program completion (as the immigration policy notes that I should apply for a work visa within 3 months after my student visa expiration). However, I had started gathering the required documents( PCC and medicals) a month in advance. There were delays from my education provider in providing me a completion certificate for my studies which came through on 31st July- a day after my student visa expired. The situation became apparent to me when I tried applying for a visa using online services on 2nd August and it didn't go through. Upon calling the immigration helpline, I was advised to either leave the country or apply for a section 61 visa.
    I lodged an application under section 61 on 9th July 2019 with the assistance of a LIA and haven't heard back from immigration since then.

I have been on a student visa program for three years now(a B.Engtech degree). Have never overstayed my previous visas and have also studied a course which is in high demand in New Zealand. I didn't intentionally breach my conditions. It only happened because of unexpected delays and my genuine misunderstanding regarding immigration policy

I know decisions under section 61 are of absolute discretion but based on my explanation so far, what do you guys think are my chances for approval? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

As a Section 61 application is a matter for the minister's discretion, nobody can give you any certain answer on this. But what bad luck, to put a foot wrong just at the last minute... Certainly, you're describing a model course of action up to that point. Good luck.

Hi JandM,