Thread: Long Term Skills Shortage List (LTSSL) Work Visa - work to residency question

Default Long Term Skills Shortage List (LTSSL) Work Visa - work to residency question

Hi there,

I've currently got a Long Term Skills Shortage List Work Visa, which on the INZ website states I can "Start my pathway to residence in New Zealand by working for up to 30 months in an occupation for which there is a shortage of New Zealanders available" and "Apply for residence after 2 years of working in an occupation on our Long Term Skill Shortage List".

I have been working at my job on my current LTSSL work visa since April 2019 (which is an occupation on the Long Term Skill Shortage List), so for approximately 5 months. I also worked in the exact same role for 10 months from April 2018 - February 2019, whilst on the BUNAC IEP visa (a different 12 month work visa).

My question is: Can I add the 10 months of work and the 5 months of work together, to 'claim' 15 months of work in an occupation that's been recognised by INZ as an occupation on the Long Term Skill Shortage List? If yes, could I then apply for residency in 9 months from now - after working in my role on the Long Term Skill Shortage List for 24 months total?

Any advice much appreciated! =)

Thanks.

No. RW4(a) specifically states: "[you must] have held a work visa granted under the long term skill shortage list work instructions for a period of at least 24 months" prior to applying for a Resident Visa under Residence from Work instructions.

I'd like to add a question to this.

If you are on a LTSSL visa, do you HAVE to be employed by an accredited employer, or could it be for a non-accredited employer as long as it's in the correct field of work?

Quote Originally Posted by BoerieNZ View Post
    I'd like to add a question to this.

If you are on a LTSSL visa, do you HAVE to be employed by an accredited employer, or could it be for a non-accredited employer as long as it's in the correct field of work?