Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Working from Home / COVID19

Default Working from Home / COVID19

Hi everyone, with the situation involving COVID-19 the company I'm working is currently rolling out a massive work from home policy for every employee (I work as a software developer). I am currently in Auckland and my visa states that I am allowed to work for this company in Auckland, would working from home be a breach of this condition? Also, since I arrived recently and didn't rent a house yet, with all this situation I am not considering going into a long term house rental for now, I have a cousin who lives in Tauranga and I am considering for the duration of the work from home policy to go there and stay at her house, could that be a breach of the condition in my visa?

Thanks in advance for any help on that!

Interesting question. I do believe you have to be physically in Auckland, at home or in the office. Tauranga might be an issue. Even if you work for your Auckland employer. But I'm not an expert. Looking forward hearing other's which do know the rules opinion.

I think someone needs to ask this question of INZ. In normal circumstances, each person has to keep to terms of their visa, including their workplace if mentioned. However, with the thousands of people being asked to work at home because of the health restrictions, I wonder if INZ will really want to get into issuing Variations Of Conditions and new visas by the thousand.

For once, I can't find any concrete information in the operational manual!