Thread: General question and advice regarding immigration advisors

Question General question and advice regarding immigration advisors

Hello all,

I've posted here a few times and this time we're keen to learn about immigration advisors and anyones experience with them.

Long story short, myself and my wife would be looking to make the move to NZ from the UK in around 18 months time. I am a web developer with five and a half years experience (but no formal qualifications) and my wife has a degree in Marketing and Advertising (from the UK) and has almost two years work experience following the degree. We're both early 30s.

We've reached out to immigration advisors over the years and while it seems that any application for a work visa (and hopefully residency visa following that) would benefit to some extent from an advisor, we just wonder how much value they really add. Of course we're not experts in immigration and it is a complex process but am wary of just throwing money at them without understanding others experience and also if it's really worth the thousands of pounds its going to cost. We're not saying it's not worth it, but with nothing to compare to we feel like we ought to do some digging and asking. One particular example would cost us at least £5,000 (including INZ fees) for a temporary work visa. We're assured that our money would only be requested by the advisor if they actually thought we stood a realistic chance of being accepted (they would take a small deposit and do an assessment). This is reassuring and does seem to negate much of the risk but should we really expect it will cost us £3000 (not including INZ fees) or is it reasonably possible to handle the process ourselves?