Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Partner Residency Visa - 1 year requirement.

Default Partner Residency Visa - 1 year requirement.

Hi All,

My partner's visa was granted on Jan last year and we are completing our 1 year of living together by the end of Jan this year to be eligible to apply for partner's resident visa ( I'm a resident already ). Is it ok to apply now? as we are 15 days short of proving 1 year of living together?

and also any ideas on the approximate timeline of partnership residence visa processing timeline these days?
    Last edited by cricfor; 12th January 2021 at 03:42 PM.

An application to INZ is a legal document on which everything must be the truth at the time it is submitted. Therefore, INZ aren't able to accept claims in anticipation of what you THINK will be true. However sincere you are in your expectations, real world events CAN get in the way.

Per F2.5(d)(iii), if the applicant and New Zealand citizen or resident partner have not lived together for 12 months or more at the time the application is lodged, the application must be declined. INZ has no discretion to grant a residence class visa as an exception to instructions (R5.55.1), so if you lodge your application early, the outcome is guaranteed to not be in your favour.

Currently, 90% of applications for the Partner of a New Zealander Resident Visa are completed within 13 months.

As above, only apply after you've hit the 12 month mark.

Partnership Residence applications are taking around 4 months to be allocated to an Immigration Officer once lodged these days - processing time after that varies widely, depending upon the competence and efficiency of the Immigration Officer you could (could be only a month, could be 6 months...I've had both scenarios lately).

Thanks a lot JandM, Kelerei and EGoodhue.

Very informative and useful.