Thread: Dole

Default Dole

Dear All, as much as I don't want to, I may have to apply for assistance financially, meaning I may have to apply for Dole.
    I resigned from my job due to circumstances I won't mention here.
    However, I have found myself now, without a job since October.
    I am a resident and have been since July of 2019.
    When applying for Permanent Residency, will this affect my application?
    Thanks in advance.

You may not be eligible for financial assistance. The INZ 1000 form (the paper residence application form for the Family and Residence from Work streams) contains the following declaration that the applicant must make, and I can confirm that my Invitation to Apply under the Skilled Migrant Category had the same statement in it:

I understand that I am not entitled to an emergency benefit, unemployment benefit on grounds of hardship or sickness benefit on grounds of hardship from Work and Income for the first 24 months of my residence in New Zealand unless I can show that I am in hardship. I also understand that if I apply for an emergency benefit, unemployment benefit on grounds of hardship or sickness benefit on grounds of hardship that I will need to show that I cannot support myself and my dependants before any application for emergency benefit, unemployment benefit on grounds of hardship or sickness benefit on grounds of hardship is considered. I understand that my application for an emergency benefit, unemployment benefit on grounds of hardship or sickness benefit on grounds of hardship may be declined if I have deprived myself of income or property, by gift or any other method.