Thread: EOI/PR or WTR Visa

Default EOI/PR or WTR Visa

Wondered if anyone might be able to offer a quick guide as to the pros and cons of these two ways of getting across to NZ and into work.

At the minute, my family and I are just in the very early stages of this emigration lark (EOI 90% completed). There's three of us (me, the missus and a baby daughter) and we're currently on 120 points with no job offer. I work in IT and it looks like any sort of job offer would take us well past the magic 140, but I'm realistic and whilst it would be lovely to secure a job offer with a hefty relocation package without even leaving the UK, I know this may not be possible so would be prepared to try other means of getting in.

But there are just so many questions. Should I ababndon the EOI route right now and just look at WTR? Would submitting an EOI make the alternative WTR route that much more difficult than if we just used that approach from day 1? Gawd who knows all this stuff.....

Another question, we really don't want to be moving out for at least another 12-18 months, so whould we be holding back for a while, or will it all take that long that we should be getting on with stuff sharpish?

Thanks in advance.........

If I remember correctly, you need a job offer from an accredited employer to be able to apply for WTR visa.

As far as i am aware Nienke is correct on applying for a WTR from here in UK.

However i think i am also right in saying (as been suggested as option for myself) that if you was to go to NZ on a holiday/visit (with family etc or without) fully prepared with CVs and documents etc then you could job hunt and if succesful i beileve its fairly straightforward then going the nearest NZIS office and getting a Works visa when then would give you time to settle in, get your feet and apply for the PR from within NZ.

I am not a total expert on this but its been suggested to myself and confirmed its a method of option.