Thread: Navigating job/visa Catch-22 (/should I work with an adviser)?

Default Navigating job/visa Catch-22 (/should I work with an adviser)?

Hi all,

My partner and I are hoping to move to Christchurch with a target arrival date of Oct 1 2023. I'm looking for your thoughts on any or all of a slew of questions!

A bit of background: I'm a 25 year-old mechanical engineer with a master's degree. I've been working my first full-time job for a few months and was previously a (paid) research assistant at my university and have had 4 internships. I specify all that since that's relatively little/odd work experience. My partner visited/lived in Christchurch for 4 month a few years ago and has a good handful of contacts in the area and NZ in general. She has a standing offer to work in a tattoo shop (so self-employed, not employee, though there is that option but far less attractive; please comment on this if you think it may be useful to our immigration case).

My main concern is the no job, no visa/no visa, no job catch-22.

1. What do you all advise is the best way to navigate that dilemma? Go at it myself, go on a different kind of visa and try to land a job once there, or work with an immigration adviser who can help me land a job at the same time? Money is definitely a consideration so the latter option is the least attractive.

2. How common is it for employers to be accredited? Is it possible to look up whether a given employer is? Or should I just go for any job I can get and apply for the SMC visa rather than the Straight to Resident visa?

3. How common is it for employers to offer relocation assistance (monetary or logistical), and what might that be like?

4. Job search guidance: TradeMe, Seek, are LinkedIn or Indeed commonly used? Should I try to work angles in industries that I'm specialized in, or would I fare no better there from the catch-22 standpoint?