Thread: where are the jobs

Cool where are the jobs

Hi, this is my first time so please be gentle

My husband and i are seriously thinking of making the move to NZ and are researching everything very very thoroughly!!! My husband is a qualified butcher (skills shortage) but we cant seem to find any jobs on the internet, where are they advertised? We have gone through various search engines but these seem to find jobs in OZ!!! we have also looked in the NZ Herald paper, Can anyone help? Do you think we should email his CV through to butchers shops? or my husband go out to NZ and find a job? If this was the case and he found work, how long would the visa take approx (given everything went smoothly) and do prospective employers show empathy and wait? Sorry if this doesnt make sense, THIS WEATHER

Hi and welcome! This is the online version of the Herald job section, it finds 19 butcher's jobs...

http://search4jobs.nzherald.co.nz

From what I've read, it's often difficult (but not impossible) to get jobs when you're not actually in NZ, so a trip out there might be a good option, seems to have worked for some folk on here. There are lots of threads here about the application process and timings, and plenty of people who will be willing to share their personal experiences with you

Thumbs up

hi
    Thanks for that info, i think the best thing to do would be to jump on a plane and have a scout about to see what he can find. I am sure the jobs are out there but are probably advertised in shop windows or local papers, similar to butchers jobs in the uk

Hi Markiemark,
    Not sure where you're headed, but try SEEK, Trades and Services: there are 2 butcher jobs there today on this link http://www.seek.co.nz/trades-services-jobs/