Thread: can I get away with buying a one way ticket?

Default can I get away with buying a one way ticket?

me again!

we were just wondering if you can only buy one way tickets to NZ if you have a 2 year work permit?

I secured a job offer and am just waiting for the paperwork from NZ in order to attach to my application.

We are hoping to submit documents to NZIS by end of Sept.
    We are looking at leaving around end Feb and have found that the longer in advance we book the cheaper the flights are
    Also Qantas has a special offer for emigrants - One way ticket and 40 kg of luggage

(cant believe that there are so many south africans leaving that they have a "special offer!)

annette,

I've had a lot of experiences with 1-way ticket headaches. The airlines can't let you on if they don't think you can make it through immigration. They get fined and you really can't reason with them.

What I do is make a "fake" ferry ticket or other type of ticket that shows I have onward passage. If that doesn't work, I buy a 1 way fully refundable return at the airport if they stop me. Then I refund it when I land at the other side. It's expensive, but you can usually have the refund posted to your credit card before payment is due.

Hope that helps.

-JZ

We came across on a one way tix last month ,having received 3 yrs work visas,and no probs!
    Good luck!!

If you have the phrase "Outward Passage Waived" on your visa, then you can enter on a one way ticket.
    Everybody else (other than NZ and Australian citizens and those with PR) need to have a ticket to a country where they have a right to enter.
    If you chose to buy a ticket to Australia (being the nearest country) you will need a visa and proof of exit from there too, as they have very similar regulations to NZ.
    I personally wouldn't recommend jiyosub's idea of making a fake ferry ticket - primarily as there are no ferrys that leave NZ...