Thread: DIY Interisland Move?

Default DIY Interisland Move?

Anyone have experience moving between islands in NZ? We are moving from Dunedin, South Island to Wellington, North Island sometime in the next month or so. So far, it seems like moving from the US to NZ was easier and cheaper than moving the same contents between islands. Are there any DIY truck rentals that don't charge a $400 island relocation fee in addition to the one way relocation fee and a per km fee? It looks like it may be cheaper to use a removal company. Any recommendations greatly appreciated.

Just nudging it up the queue in case anyone that can help hasn't seen this.

It may well be cheaper to move from the US.

I've no experience of interisland but have you tried ringing some Welly firms to see if they want a full load on a return trip? Try the yellow pages but Conroys or Mana Transport spring to mind. I know that some of them advertise this service on the side of their trucks.

Hope you've got your kiwi accent voice synthesizer on, just to give you some idea of the cost we had for a 3 bed and office, garage etc,

Miramar to Eastbourne - full pack and transport $2,200
    Eastbourne to rural Wanganui - $2,600 approx (from memory)

Our current kiwi landlord moved further and had more stuff 5 bedrooms etc - rural Wangers to Cambridge Waikato - $1600.

Thank you Smiler!

Conroys has beat the other quotes by 40%! So far they have been very helpful on the phone as well. For others who may be moving, here's a breakdown of what we have found so far:

Small move: 3 cubic meters

Rental truck (One Way): $400 interisland relocation fee + $400 one way drop off fee + $200 ferry + $165 truck rental per day + Per km fee of $0.35 + Petrol, +GST

Conroy Removals: $540 door to door includes GST (owner pack).

Other removal companies: $800-$900.

Pretty easy decision for me-Conroys it is. I'm so excited about the move to Welly. I'm off to pack