Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: work permit for unskilled labour

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default work permit for unskilled labour

Hey there
    I am a new resident of NZ, been living here just over 3months. My residency application was approved last week. We are quite excited. My brother (23) is coming to visit me, he hopes to find work here and apply for his work permit, however he is still comleting his diploma in Marketing through correspondence. As a result he will have to apply for unskilled work. I was wondering does the Dept. of immigration grant work permits for jobs in a supermarket say? or any other type of unskilled job. I was under the impression that work permits are granted only for qualified people. I am trying to gain as much info as I can for him, dont want him to get here and be disapointed. any help welcome.

What citizenship does he hold? If he is eligible, a working holiday visa sounds like the best option - you can do almost any kind of work on it, the catch being that you can't work for the same employer for more than 3 months.

I too agree with Anna. The Working Holiday Visa is the best route to take, I came over on the working holiday and was able to work without the job having to be on the shortage list. Although the rules applied regarding the 3 Months limit , I stayed in the same job for a year, to which I hasten to say, Immigration knew about and they cast a blind eye over it ? Maybe I was lucky, I don't know ?
    Good luck with all

the 3 month limit to each job does depend on where you are from. Uk is ok in that regard.

Hey guys
    thanks for the advice - it is a south african citizenship. dont know how that works. Rang immigration yesterday, they said that if he gets a job in a supermarket say, then the store will have to prove why they couldnt hire a kiwi. Am going to check on the working holiday idea. Thanks people.