Annual Leave / Public Holidays in New Zealand

The legal minimum annual-leave in New Zealand is currently four weeks, plus eleven days of public-holidays. Many companies offer longer holidays – five weeks is possible – linked to the number of years you have worked for the company, or possibly negotiated from the time you begin a new job.

In addition to these ten days, each region / city has one public holiday on its anniversary day. For example, the 2016 local public holidays are; Auckland – 30 January, Christchurch – 17 November and Wellington – 23 January.

The ten Public holidays for 2016 are:

Holiday 2016 Dates
New Year’s DayFriday 1 January
Post New Year’s DaySaturday 2 January or Monday 4 January
Waitangi DayMonday 8 February
Good FridayFriday 25 March
Easter MondayMonday 28 March
ANZAC DayMonday 25 April
Queen’s BirthdayMonday 6 June
Labour DayMonday 24 October
Christmas DaySunday 25 December or Tuesday 27 December
Boxing DayMonday 26 December

The ten Public holidays for 2017 are:

Holiday 2017 Dates
New Year’s DaySunday 1 January
Post New Year’s DayMonday 2 January
Waitangi DayMonday 6 February
Good FridayFriday 14 April
Easter MondayMonday 17 April
ANZAC DayTuesday 25 April
Queen’s BirthdayMonday 5 June
Labour DayMonday 23 October
Christmas DayMonday 25 December
Boxing DayTuesday 26 December

The Anniversary Day of the Province in which an employee works are observed as follows in 2016:

Holiday 2016 Dates
AucklandMonday 1 February
TaranakiMonday 14 March
Hawkes’ BayFriday 21 October
WellingtonMonday 25 January
MarlboroughMonday 31 October
NelsonMonday 1 February
CanterburyFriday 11 November
Canterbury (South)Monday 26 September
WestlandMonday 28 November
OtagoMonday 21 March
SouthlandTuesday 29 March
Chatham IslandsMonday 28 November

The Anniversary Day of the Province in which an employee works are observed as follows in 2017:

Holiday 2017 Date
AucklandMonday 30 January
TaranakiMonday 13 March
Hawkes’ BayFriday 20 October
WellingtonMonday 23 January
MarlboroughMonday 30 October
NelsonMonday 30 January
CanterburyFriday 17 November
Canterbury (South)Monday 25 September
WestlandMonday 4 December
OtagoMonday 20 March
SouthlandTuesday 18 April
Chatham IslandsMonday 27 November